Horribly Outdated

26 10 2010

Yes… I know…. I have been serious BAD about updating my blog with Picasso’s progress. I should be whipped…..

But here is an update: SO FAR SO GOOD!!!!!

Picasso has been steadily increasing his workouts the past couple months. We added in cantering and are doing pretty well!

In a recent lesson with Emily Giamonna, we experimented with a shorter rein. I have been riding Picasso long and low in an effort to get him to use his top line correctly. But either due to my lack of skill or some other variable, I have been unable to accomplish this… One theory is that his underneck is so well developed, which he did in his spare time…. that even in a long and low position, he is still using it…… Hmmm…. In the photo above he is still using that underneck…..

So how are his cysts?? So far, not a problem. I believe the combination of stem cells and Tildren have shored up the weakness… at least for the workload we have been doing. We have been doing 15-20 minutes of lunging, followed by 10 mins walk, 10 trot, 15-20 of trot with a smidge of canter. That’s about a typical day. I also mix in hill work.

Actions

Information

One response

11 08 2011
stephanie

I’ve read a few of your blog posts… It seems a lot of things happen to your horse, Picasso! This is a great blog and keep up the great work. I don’t know much about horses, but your blog was fun to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

